Detroit Local Section

of the American Chemical Society

Salutes to Excellence Award

Each year the Detroit Section of the ACS presents Salutes to Excellence Awards to its members.   Currently the Executive Committee is soliciting nominations for this award. In case you are not aware of the program, Salutes to Excellence is an award program that gives ACS members an opportunity to recognize the positive impact on everyday life made by a product of chemistry, a practitioner of Chemistry, or a place of importance in chemistry. So, if you know of someone who deserves to be recognized for his or her hard work, please send in the nomination. The nominee can also be an institution as well. For example, ABC Chemical Company was very involved in your local school district. As a result of their commitment, your students’ interest in science increased.

Since the program was first unveiled in 2000 by the ACS Office of Community Activities (OCA) more than 251 honorees nationwide have received Salutes to Excellence recognition. A central part of the event is the presentation of a commemorative plaque, furnished by OCA, for the honoree(s) for the chemistry achievement being honored. Each year the award(s) is presented at  the CIC meeting in May. The honoree(s) and their guest(s) will be invited to the awards banquet compliments of the Detroit Section. If you have any questions on the criteria of the award, please contact Mary Kay Heidtke, Recognition Chair for the Detroit Section. Her e-mail address is:

                          Award Recipients







Susan Walkinshaw

National Sanitation Foundation


Walter Siegl

Ford Motor Co


Gina Ludwig






Angela Allen

Univ of Michigan/Dearborn


Steve Chambreau

USAF Research Labs


Megan Klein

Ash Stevens Co


Meghann Mouyianis

Univ of UD/Mercy


Charles Deak